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STATE OF WISCONSIN  
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 
PETITION AND ORDER TO REPEAL UNAUTHORIZED RULES 

________________________________________________________________ 

 

The Department of Transportation hereby petitions the Joint Committee for Review 

of Administrative Rules to repeal rules the department has determined to be 
unauthorized, using the process under s. 227.26 (4), Stats. 

________________________________________________________________

 · 

PROPOSED ORDER. 

 
The Department of Transportation proposes an order to repeal ss. Trans 128.05 
(5) (b) and 128.15, relating to the Traffic Violation and Registration Program. 

 
ANALYSIS 

 
Statutes interpreted:  Sections 85.13, 341.08 (4m), 341.10 (7) and (7M), 341.64, 

345.17, 345.28 and 345.47 (1) (d), Stats. 

 
Statute authority: Sections 85.13, 227.11, 345.28 and 345.47 (1) (d), Stats. 

 
Explanation of the agency's authority: Trans 128.05 (5) (b): There is no statutory 

authority for the Department of Transportation (Department) to require only 50 
percent payment of forfeiture or storage charges for leased or rented vehicles. 

 

Related statute or rule: Trans 128.05 (5) (b) and s. 345.47 (1) (d), Stats. 

 
Plain language analysis: Trans 128 implements the Traffic Violation and Registration 

program, under which the Department refuses or suspends vehicle registrations upon 
receiving a report from a municipality or county that the vehicle has unpaid parking 
forfeitures or towing and storage fees. The registration suspension remains in effect until 
the forfeitures are paid. 
 
Trans 128.05 (5) (b) allows the department to avoid the registration suspension for a 
leased vehicle or rental vehicle if the owner pays 50 percent of those delinquent charges. 
The department lacks authority to treat rental or leased vehicles differently than other 
vehicles. 

 
Trans 128.05 (5) (b) should be repealed because the Department lacks the 
authority in statute to require only 50 percent payment of forfeiture or storage 
charges. 

 
Trans 128.15 allowed a 2-year pilot program to determine the effectiveness of notices 



required under Trans 128. The control group testing is complete and the Rule is no 
longer needed. 

 . . 
Agency contact person:  

 Reed McGinn 
 Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
 Division of Motor Vehicles 
 4822 Madison Yards Way 
 Madison, WI  53705  
 (608) 266-7857 
 reed.mcginn@dot.wi.gov 

 
 
 
 
 

PROPOSED RULE 

 
SECTION 1. TRANS 128.05 (5) (b) is repealed. 

 
SECTION 2. TRANS 128.15 is repealed. 

 

SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules repealed in this order shall take effect 

on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative 

Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 

 
(END OF RULE TEXT) 

  
     Signed this ____ day of ______________ 2019. 
 
 
 
             
     ___________________________________________ 
     Joel Nilsestuen 

Assistant Deputy Secretary 
     State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
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